Dose Struggle

What dose of Suboxone do you take? Does your buprenorphine wear off? Do you have opioid withdrawal symptoms?
bandana
Average Poster
Average Poster

Dose Struggle

Post by bandana » Fri Jan 04, 2019 7:46 pm

Hi All--
This is my first time posting here. I am looking for some guidance on my dose.
I have been on Suboxone for around 10 months. Over that period, the amount that I need to avoid withdrawal seems to keep going up. I am currently on 24mg/day, and am splitting that dose into 3 or 4 doses per day. For whatever the reason, I can't seem to find the dose that keeps me from feeling withdrawal symptoms consistently. I can go a week or so feeling just fine, but then seemingly out of the blue, I will start feeling terrible during the day. Headaches, restless legs...basically full on withdrawal. Usually, after a couple of days, it goes away and I feel fine again. However, this keeps happening over and over. I never seem to find the right daily dose and/or number of doses that keep me from feeling bad.
Would I be better off taking 12 mg twice a day, rather than 6-8 mg three or four times a day? It seems like no matter what I try, I can't find the steady state, but I'm wondering if that is because I am dosing so many times per day. Any thoughts would be greatly appreciated, because I am sick of feeling so up and down, which I just didn't think would happen with a long acting drug like Suboxone. I expected to reach an equilibrium after a couple of months, but it just hasn't happened.

jennjenn

Re: Dose Struggle

Post by jennjenn » Sat Jan 05, 2019 8:18 am

Hey bandana welcome!!